The association

The European Academy Berlin derives its legal identity from the Europäische Akademie Berlin e.V., a registered association (e.V.), which includes the following institutions and persons:

Natural persons:

  • Hildegard Bentele, Member of the European Parliament, CDU
  • Erik Betterman, former Director of Deutsche Welle
  • Gaby Bischoff, Member of the European Parliament, SPD
  • Dr. Andrea Despot, Chief Executive Officer of the EVZ Foundation
  • Eberhard Diepgen, Lawyer, former Governing Mayor of Berlin
  • Dieter Ernst, former State Secretary, former spokesperson for the Board of Berlinwasser International
  • Stefan Evers, Member of the Berlin Parliament, Secretary General of the CDU Berlin
  • Dr. Christian Johann, Academy Director, European Academy Berlin
  • Dr. Sylvia-Yvonne Kaufmann, former Member of the European Parliament, SPD
  • Dr. Ottilie Klein, Member of the German Bundestag, CDU
  • Dr. Peter-Jörg Klein, Lawyer
  • Michael Georg Link, Coordinator of Transatlantic Cooperation of the Federal German Government
  • Markus Löning, owner, Human Rights and Responsible Business
  • Petra Merkel, former Member of the German Parliament, SPD
  • Martina Michels, Member of the European Parliament, Die Linke
  • Hubertus Moser, former Chairman of the Managing Board and Board of Directors of Landesbank Berlin
  • Dr. Gero Pfennig, Lawyer and Notary public, Berlin
  • Walter Rasch, Managing partner of HPE Development GmbH, Chairman of the Federal Association of Private Housing and Real Estate Companies e.V. (BFW); former Minister in Berlin
  • Dagmar Roth-Behrendt, Lawyer, former Vice President of the European Parliament
  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Sabathil, former EU ambassador
  • Anja Schillhaneck, Member of the Berlin Parliament, Bündnis 90/ Die Grünen 
  • Christian Schmidt, Minister, Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture, Member of the German Parliament, CSU
  • André Schmitz, former Secretary for Cultural Matters of Berlin, Chairman of the Schwarzkopf Foundation
  • Klaus Wowereit, former Governing Mayor of Berlin
  • Frank Zimmermann, Member of the Berlin Parliament, SPD

Corporate entities:

  • Berliner Volksbank eG, represented by Daniel Keller, Chairman of the Board
  • Deutsche Telekom AG, represented by Fritz Uwe Hofmann, Head, political representation of interests division

Managing Committee:

  • Dieter Ernst, Committee Chair
  • Dr. Christian Johann, Committee Deputy Chair, Managing Committee Member
  • Markus Löning, Committe Deputy Chair
  • Petra Merkel, Committee Deputy Chair

Cash auditors:

  • Sylvia-Yvonne Kaufmann
  • Frank Zimmermann

Articles of Association

*) Register court: Amtsgericht Berlin-Charlottenburg – register number: VR 3197 B correct as of: January 2019